EU Sanctions Crimean Members of Russian Parliament

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor Photo of CrimeaEU Sanctions Crimean Members of Russian Parliament

On 09 November 2016, the EU extended it’s restrictive measures related to the ongoing crisis in the Crimea Region.

The European Council decided to add six recently elected members of the Russian Federation Duma to it’s sanctions list. This was done in response for their role in the unresolved territorial crisis surrounding the Crimean region and the city of Sevastopol. See Regulation (EU) 2016/1955 implementing Regulation 269/2014 and Decision 2016/1961 amending Decision 2014/145/CFSP.  

The EU defended it’s latest gulf of restrictive measures by stating:

In line with its non-recognition policy, the EU considers that the persons who became  members of the State Duma as a result of the elections in Crimea should be placed under sanctions. The Council therefore added the following six persons to the list of persons subject to sanctions: Ruslan Ismailovich Balbek, Konstantin Mikhailovich Bakharev, Dmitry Anatolievich Belik,  Andrei Dmitrievich Kozenko, Svetlana Borisovna Savchenko and Pavel Valentinovich Shperov.” 

In this context, the EU refuses to recognize the secession of the Crimean peninsula from the Ukraine, which it considers an annexation of Crimea. The EU continues to insist that the Russian parliamentary elections held there in September 2016 are illegal. 

These restrictive measures consist of an asset freeze and a travel ban against individuals and companies, accused by the EU, to have aided Moscow’s takeover of the Black Sea peninsula. The measures will now apply to a total of 152 persons and 37 entities. The measures were introduced in March 2014 and were last extended in September 2016 until 15 March 2017. Afbeeldingsresultaat voor photo of eu council building

In September 2016, the EU decided to extended it’s sanctions regime by six months against the Russian Federation and Ukrainian individuals/companies  for aiding and abetting pro-secessionist rebels in Eastern Ukraine.

In December 2016, EU leaders are to review these economic sanctions at a summit amid sharp differences over how effective they are.


1 Comment on "EU Sanctions Crimean Members of Russian Parliament"

  1. I simply want to tell you that I’m new to blogs and certainly liked your web site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You really come with exceptional articles. Kudos for sharing your webpage.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.