EU Renews Crimea & Sevastopol until 27 June 2017

European union concept, digital illustration.


European union concept, digital illustration.

EU Decides to extend Crimea & Sevastopol Sanctions Regime

On 17 June 2016, the EU decided to extend its sanctions policy regarding the ongoing crisis in Crimea and Sevastopol. 

In its statement, the EU has decided to extend its restrictive measures until 27 June 2017. The measures apply to EU persons and EU based companies. They are limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol. The sanctions include prohibitions on:

  • imports of products originating in Crimea or Sevastopol into the EU;
  • investment in Crimea or Sevastopol, meaning that no Europeans nor EU-based companies can buy real estate or entities in Crimea, finance Crimean companies or supply related services; 
  • tourism services in Crimea or Sevastopol, in particular, European cruise ships cannot call at ports in the Crimean peninsula, except in case of emergency;  
  • exports of certain goods and technologies to Crimean companies or for use in Crimea in the transport, telecommunications and energy sectors and related to the prospection, exploration and production of oil, gas and mineral resources. Technical assistance, brokering, construction or engineering services related to infrastructure in these sectors must not be provided either.

Links to EU measures 

The EU is also set to decide whether to extend its sanctions against Russia, which are planned to expire at the end of July 2016. 

1 Comment on "EU Renews Crimea & Sevastopol until 27 June 2017"

  1. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogs and truly enjoyed this blog. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with tremendous posts. Kudos for sharing your blog site.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.